Revamping your diet, one meal at a time

If you’ve followed me since the beginning of this blog throughout my fitness years, you know I’ve been into many phases of healthy eating, dieting, carb loading, clean eating etc. With studying, trying, making mistakes I got to learn quite a bit about nutrition and how food interacts with our emotional and physical health. In my last post I expressed my health concerns regarding using Paragard, and after this experience I decided to start eating even better, nourishing every single one of these hard working cells that make up who I am, adding new foods, new nutrients and experimenting new recipes -while trying not to spend all my money lol. I think even when you are a healthy person there is always room for improvement (without becoming obsessed) and being little over my 30’s I believe investing in better health and nutrition is the best way to protect myself from prematurely aging and maintain a strong, functioning immune and recovery system to keep training for a long time.

So today I want to go over breakfast, and how I revamped one of my favorite meals: oatmeal!

I’ve been eating oatmeal for breakfast for the past 10 years lol. Oats are a wonderful food that keep you full for many hours and give you a steady flow of glucose in your bloodstream (without spikes like simple sugar does), they’re a great complex carb filled with fibers and vitamins. I would usually eat it with cinnamon, a couple egg whites, natural peanut butter, unsweetened almond milk, honey, some berries which makes it already a great breakfast, but what about making it even better? So that’s what I used today:


Beside oats, honey, cinnamon and almond milk, I added raw almond butter, walnuts, pumpkinseeds, goji berries. Why did I pick those? Seeds and berries of this kind are packed with omega 3s, antioxidants and many minerals and vitamins, it’s not a case they’re called “superfoods”. Oatmeal is such a versatile food, you can really add so many ingredients to it and never get bored. Try it with also cocoa nibs, half banana, a teaspoon of coconut oil or shredded coconut to sprinkle on top. I love this variation too!

Eating healthy should be fun and easy. If it becomes a chore, you’ll likely stop it and go back to your old habits. My advice is to try a few new ingredients/foods at a time. Integrate them into your diet without drastic changes. Drastic changes are hard to keep up in the long run: slow, steady changes is what you want to aim for. Also, if you hate the taste of a certain healthy food, don’t eat it! That’s for me apple cider vinegar. Everyone swears by it, but I just can’t stand it, so I never have it lol. There are TONS of options out there, go pick the ones you can fit into your diet AND taste good to you 🙂

3 responses to “Revamping your diet, one meal at a time

Leave a Reply

