Fear of change

“People won’t take action until the pain of staying the same becomes greater than the pain of change.” Paul Mort

This is so incredibly true. This sentence got stuck in my mind since I read it few weeks ago, and I feel it applies in so many situations in life. Whenever you wish to make a change, but the thought of it scares you or feels insuperable, you just put that wish away and forget it for a while. Then it comes back, and you push it away again, trying to justify why you really don’t need to make that change, your life is good anyway etc. But inside you already know, soon or later that itchy thought will grow bigger and bigger in you, and you will have to deal with it, eventually. It could be anything, your desire to become healthier, quit smoking, lose weight, take a plane, follow your dream job, moving on from a wrong relationship. I like that in the sentence above, the word “pain” is being used. Pain is a state we all live in our life, on a daily basis. We live to alleviate pain, in a way. We sleep to alleviate the pain of being tired, we eat/drink to alleviate the pain of being hungry/thirsty, we work to alleviate the pain and problems of having no money etc…isn’t the absence of pain what we call happiness?

So in a way, a change becomes necessary because it’s creating a growing “pain”in our life, as discomfort, dissatisfaction, concern, lower self esteem etc. You realize that dealing with the change will only make your life better eventually, you envision yourself being happier; the change take place in your mind first, then when the mind starts metabolizing this thought, actions – not just words! – should follow.

Also, each one of us has different changes to deal in their life, do not judge what those are, because whatever change it’s needed to be done, small or big you think it is, it takes courage, effort, work, dedication, motivation, an open mind.

I’m personally dealing with something I’ve been trying to avoid for years… and just couple days ago I told myself, no more. I got to the point where I can’t escape this change, I tried, it’s time to take this barrier down and deal with my fear of… DRIVING! Don’t laugh at me, there is nothing that scares me more than driving a car. I’m 29 and never had to drive or own a car, untill now, where leaving in Las Vegas car-less became unbearable to me. I tried before and quit, now I’m motivated to get over with this fear.

So now you know, it doesn’t scare me to stretch to the max with my butt on my head, but driving a car terrifies me lol. I’m dealing with it though! It’s my time to change 🙂 A fun fact, when I drive I have to wear my Tupac good luck shirt lol

FullSizeRender (1) FullSizeRender (2)

What scares you that you keep postponing changes towards it?

Leave a Reply

