Self esteem suckers and good energy generators

(Note: I’ve blogged about this in the past, it’s a often reoccurring topic in my head)

It took me about 25 years to build up character, personality, self esteem, self respect, recognize what my passion was and what I was meant to do in this life. It took me a lot of struggle, wandering in a haze of confusion, insecurity, indecision. I didn’t like those times and I’m glad they’re way behind me. I’m not saying I got my life figured completely, but I’m pretty happy of where it’s going, what I do, who I am, and I have to thank my parents for how they grow me up and the education I received, some influent people I met during these years, but overall… ME. Yes, thank you ME. Because I trusted my inner voice and followed dreams that looked like utopia for a while. I worked hard to become who I am, it’s been a long, difficult but rewarding journey so far, and I usually don’t let anyone put me down.

But there are few people that somehow make you feel weak, and can easily tear down that wall of confidence you built in so much time and with so much effort. I call those people “self esteem suckers”. These people can be evil without even knowing it. They can be “friends”, family members, coworkers… People you might love and they might love you back, but they can hurt you, discourage you, put you down in very subtle ways you might not even recognize. One thing I know though, I try to stay away from these people. I know they don’t value my work or what I do the same way I do. They don’t intentionally want to hurt you but they do. They can just think what you do is not as important as what they think is important. You get it?
If you try to explain and talk them into looking at things your way, they just don’t get it. So you stop there and move on without pretending everyone to understand you… It’s hard though, because sometime you still have to confront with these people and hope everything goes right… I hate fights and the need to explain all I do, it makes me nervous and uncomfortable, I’m done explaining !

The good energy generators are instead those people who share your passion (or just understand your love for it) and they make you feel comfortable, at ease, with nothing “to hide”. They just irradiate good energy and feed your heart with rare, quality support and love. These people are a treasure… Don’t ever let them go! They probably feel the same way about you.
It’s funny how sometimes plain strangers can be the most supportive people, and your family or close friends can be the most hurtful!

So to end this post… You have the CHOICE (most of the times) of who you surround yourself with. Let go people who think less of you or just won’t respect your life or your view on things; if you can’t because they are part of your family… Stay cool and do what you do regardless. Stay close the ones who value you. Even though in this life we should be self sufficient to some degree ( don’t depend on others), having a positive network of people around you is vital.

IMG_4839.JPG
“Do what you love, as far as you know you only have this life to live, make the most out of it”

3 responses to “Self esteem suckers and good energy generators

Leave a Reply

