Camaleon

A Camaleon is an animal which changes its color depending on what it’s close, if it’s a leaf it becomes green, if it’s a rock he becomes gray, if it’s a tree trunk he becomes brown. When you are said to be like a camaleon, it means you are able to adapt to your environment and surroundings, whatever those are. It refers also to changes and situations, it’s your ability to be flexible, to let go previous situations, embracing new ones.

I always liked this quality and I think it’s determinant to not get stuck nor resist necessary changes to move forward in life. I think too often we are scared of getting out of our comfort zone or challenge ourselves. We all have an idea of how we want our life course to go, what our dreams and goals are, we have a plan or something like that, but so many times we get content with less, or we get distract, we wait, we fear bigger changes and our plan ends up forgotten. It’s also true that sometimes life chooses for you, and things might go differently, happen at moments you wouldn’t think you’re ready for, or just you’re forced into plan revision or plan updates. If you can be a camaleon and embrace changes, those you chooses and those you don’t, everything runs more smoothly, less stressfully and you’ll get where you want to be eventually (a good dose of courage is needed too). I can’t tell you how to be a camaleon, but I can say it starts by being open-minded in life and do not think only black or white, consider the diversity and variety of life, all it offers and the more you can get from it, the better.

I recently decided to meditate after a home stretching session, I sat down, closed my eyes and tried to detach myself from reality. I thought about all things that scare me in life, like not knowing the future, not reaching my goals, losing people I love, not knowing what happen after you die. My mantra (what I tell myself and I want to go by) was: go with life, not against it. Do not fear. Be the happiest you can, by being the best you can. Take the most out of this life, age gracefully, be kind. Those 15 moments spent meditating really relaxed me. I wanna be a camaleon and go with life’s flow, happily realizing myself and my dreams 🙂

5 responses to “Camaleon

  1. What Albert was referring to is that sometimes people are called chameleons when they change their personality or their habits depending on their surroundings (which is not always the best trait!)

    I think being adaptable to your environment is important. Being bold, taking steps out of your comfort zone, slowly exploring your fears and embracing things/styles/people that you didn’t think you ever would.

    I agree with most of the principles of what you said your main goals in life are. I’d say that mine are quite similar:

    Maximize life. No one knows for sure how long we have in this world, so try to explore and do all of the things that you’ve always wanted to do! Be kind to others, always. Cherish family and friends. Treat your body with respect, as it is the vessel that is carrying you through this grand journey that is life. It’s natural to have fears, but don’t dwell on them. Celebrate the small things in life, otherwise they might just pass you by.

    (Randomly, that reminded me of one of my favorite quotes – “Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.”)

    Anyways, I don’t know if I have a point in my post, other than to encourage to continue exploring what interests you and what makes you happy. You’ve already moved from Italy to the US and made a new life for yourself. You should be proud of yourself! and your chameleoness 😉 Life will always throw the unexpected at you, your ability to embrace its challenges and adapt to what life gives you will go a long way towards determining how happy you are and how successful you are at reaching your goals 🙂

Leave a Reply

