More blogging on legs

I really love to train my legs. If you ask me what body part I know more exercises about is legs. I tried tons of stuff – now I can tell what works on me and what is just a waste of time. I know how often I need to train them, how long, how intense, how heavy. I love legs that look firm, strong, athletic without being too thick or masculine. Its been a long process ( 10 years?) but now training legs comes naturally and I never let a workout being ineffective!

NIIICE

That’s how I work my legs: once a week, for about an hour and half. Usually I include one week plyometrics and lots of drop sets and supersets, to really fatigue them. Another week I do olympic lifts, squat, deads, lunges, step ups or split squat, leg press, leg curl, leg extension, pretty heavy. Another week it can be a mix of the two, with lighter weights.
I make sure I have a kickass playlist on my ipod, a cup of coffee before and I’m good to go. Today I had a real good session! That’s how it went down:

BB Squat 4x 12-15 reps

superset with sumo squat x12 on 2 bosu balls holding  60 lbs DB between my legs

superset with wide straight legs deads x12 with same DB (can’t go heavy on those since I hurt my lower back a while ago)

Wide legs BB squat 2×15

superset with close legs squat (just bodyweight) 2×15

Split squat holding 25 lbs DBs 3×10 +10 without DBs

45° Leg press 4×12

On fours, butt kicks at Smith machine 3×12

Prone single leg curl 4×12

Leg press seated, alternating legs 4×20

Sometimes I have not many ideas and I’d pick 3 exercises and do lots of sets with them. Other times pick like 6-10 exercises and get a variety of stimuli to my legs from cables, barbells, dumbells, machines.
Two machines I don’t really like is hack squat and horizontal leg press. For some reasons I don’t feel anything with those!

Hope you enjoyed this post. Now I’m going to see what my mom is cooking… She just got here from Italy and already owning the kitchen lol 😉

3 responses to “More blogging on legs

  1. Gotta say,
    I loved this post Sof !!
    Can’t deny you have many impressive physical attributes – and your amazing physique is a testimony to your expertise, dedication and knowledge – your Quads and Ham’s are pretty damn inspirational to Girls/Guys alike.
    This has really helped me alot, and given me more ideas to Blast my leg’s more in my weekly routine – as, tbh, I just got bored with the usual curl’s, Dead-lifts etc.
    I’d really like to learn how to incorporate more plyometric variation’s into my routine. So any advice is greatly appreciated.
    Enjoy Mamma Venanzetti’s Eggplant Parmigiana Bella!! :))

  2. Hey Rob! Thanks so much for ur comment. Makes me glad especially to hear it from a guy! Good u interested to step up ur legs training. Too often guys neglect them… let me send u my plyo ebook so u can try some new stuff. There are mostly circuits but also good plyo exercises. Just tell which email u prefer to have it sent on 😉 Ciao!

  3. No worries Sofia, most welcome!
    Sorry for late response I haven’t been back on here since last week – a copy of your eBook would be awesome, that’s really kind thankyou!!
    You can send it to my hotmail.com address, do you have it – or shall I msg it to your FB inbox?
    Ciao, have a good one! 😉

Leave a Reply

