Homemade Protein Nut butter (peanut free)

I’m so excited about my last invention! I always wanted a nut butter that:

contained a mixture of nuts, especially pistachios

didn’t have peanuts in it

didn’t have sugar (no honey, molasses, sugar cane etc) nor added oils

contained protein

wasn’t a mess to stir

didn’t cost a heck of money

So I made MINE! I went to the store and looked for some bags of salted, mixed nuts. My favorite are cashews, almonds and pistachios and I found the perfect one

I bought two of these (10 oz, 283 gr each) and thrown them in the blender. I started to chop them and slowly added a cup of egg whites and a pinch of stevia, kept blending for few seconds, stopping to stir the whole thing with a spoon. It was still very dense and thick so I added about 1/4 cup of almond milk. Blended again and stopped to stir few times.

It came out a paste that I poured into a Whole Foods container.

Best part was CLEANING the blender ahah! Mmmmm….

D E L I C I O U S.

I dipped in some carrots and voitlà, great snack. I haven’t measured the macros yet, but I guess 2 tbsp would be a good amount to get some protein and healthy fats. You can also do a cocoa version by adding approx 1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa, or 1/4 coconut oil instead of almond milk to make it even smoother. You can play with other nuts of your choice, add flaxseeds etc. TRY IT!

2 responses to “Homemade Protein Nut butter (peanut free)

  1. Hey babes! I have heard that when you dont cook egg whites that you can not utilise the protein in it – not sure how true this is, as in if you dont get any of the protein or some of it…. May wanna check in to it if you are wanting to still use it as a protein source!

Leave a Reply

